Tag Archives: Election 2016

Close call as Saint Lucians vote today

Close call as Saint Lucians vote today

Will the undecideds decide St. Lucia election 2016?

After just 14 days of campaigning, Saint Lucians will take to the polls today to select a new government. The Electoral Department has indicated that 160, 465 people are eligible to cast ballots at 430 polling stations in the June 6, 2016 General Election.

Thirty-Nine (39) candidates will vie for seventeen (17) seats  in the island’s 17th election since Independence in 1979. The major political parties, The United Workers Party and the Saint Lucia Labour Party, each have a history of winning eight national elections.

List of candidates 2016 elections

List of candidates in Saint Lucia’s 2016 general election

This election is generally accepted as being too close to call following disputed surveys by Peter Wickham of Caribbean Development Research Services (CADRES) and Don Anderson.

Voter turn-out is expected to be moderate with inclement weather being a factor, despite campaigning that saw the country ablaze with colour and aloud with exhortations to vote on the last day before the official poll.  There has been indication of a high level of undecideds who could influence projections thus far. Independents election 2016SLP Slate 2016UWP slate 2016

Advanced polling was held on June 3 for Fire Service Personnel, Police Officers and for the the first time Correctional Officers at designated polling stations around the island. There was also an effort to arrange for clients and patients of institutions such as Victoria and St. Jude’s hospitals, St. Lucy’s and Comfort Bay Homes to vote.

Polling stations open at 6:30am and close at 6pm today.

Choice Television will provide full election coverage and comprehensive analysis throughout the day. Watch at home or on the go by accessing the livestream here – Choice TV39 livestream.

The full list of candidates, voters, polling stations and other official election information is available here at the Electoral Department website.