BANNED IN SAINT LUCIA (Part 1)

Standard

Artistic license? Freedom of speech? The voice of the people?
How far is too far?
You decide.
The following calypso, as well as one other, has been banned from the government affiliated “nation’s station” Radio Saint Lucia (RSL). There have been detractors and supporters of RSL’s action, which, the station claims, was taken to avoid potential lawsuits.
This has brought untold attention to the lyrics of the song sang by Martina ‘Lady Spice’ Francis and penned by McStephen ‘Lord Help Me’ Aubertine. Despite the controversy, the artiste has managed to make it to the 2009 calypso finals, scheduled for July 18 at the Mindoo Phillip Park. Spice and Aubertine are both past winners and the team is a strong contender for the crown. In first place after the calypso semi-finals, Spice can again bring the crown home to the Take Over Tent (TOT).
Here, presented for you, are the alleged potentially libellous lyrics. Before it reaches the big yard and the final judgement, here’s your chance to be the judge.

DOH BLAME ME
Lady Spice/McStephen Aubertinelady spice
Verse 1
Things were looking so well, even a blind man could tell
We country was moving, she was progressing
Proper education, school place for everyone
Dat was de plan
Two brand new hospitals, health care for one and all
Kenny heard the call, people were working
Money was spending; business booming
We were the envy of everyone in the Caribbean
But what did you do, what did you do?
You line up in queue and put rogues to represent you
Chorus 1
Doh blame me, doh blame me, I voted for labour party
Doh blame me, doh blame me, for this tragedy
Doh blame me for Ruthless Tucker, you knew that he was a gangster
Doh blame me for King, his best quality is lying
The truth de man always twisting
When asked in cabinet, King Liar say he never bend for nobody yet
Chorus
Doh blame me, doh blame me, I voted for Labour Party
Doh blame me, doh blame me, for your misery
Verse 2
Take a look around – yea man, in every village and town
Everybody crying, nothing happening
De yutes are in a rage, so they on a rampage
Endless carnage
While rats in cabinet, to see dem tete-a-tete, tiffing all dey get
Investors running, revenue falling, Helen dying
She hardly breathing; cause all her blood King and dem sucking
yo pa mélé (i.e. they don’t care)
yo jus mo’vé (i.e.they’re just wicked)
wayday nous bondieux (i.e. help us God)
Portay bon goovedma veeway (i.e. bring good government back)
Chorus 2
Doh blame me, doh blame me, I voted for Labour Party
Doh blame me, doh blame me, for that lunacy
Doh blame me for all dem scandals, like the beach dey sell for Sandals
Doh blame me for crime dat keep rising all de time
If a man got killed was Kenny
For him, boy, you had no mercy
But since you put in King
Nowadays even policeman they killing
Doh blame me, doh blame me, I voted for Labour Party
Doh blame me, doh blame me, for your misery
Doh blame me, doh blame me, I voted for Labour Party
Doh blame me, doh blame me, for this tragedy
Doh blame me for Ruthless Tucker, you knew that he was a gangster
Doh blame me for King, his best quality is lying
The truth de man always twisting
When asked in cabinet, King Liar say he never bend for nobody yet
Doh blame me, doh blame me, I voted for Labour Party
Doh blame me, doh blame me, for your misery
Verse 3
Disobeyed his wife, and he paid with his lifeLord Help Me
‘Cause she warned Sir John, doh mix wid dem man
Caue some were drug dealers, money launderers, ex-prisoners
But Lucians didn’t hear you went and put dem dere
Mee nous ka pwan faire (i.e. things hard)
Small business closing, hotels downsizing, workers bawling
Ministers laughing, while Chou money dey pocketing
De PM looking, kyan do a ting
De man is a jack, dey doh have no damnwell King in dat pack
Chorus 3
Doh blame me, doh blame me, I voted for Labour Party
Doh blame me, doh blame me, for this comedy
Doh blame me for poor health service, a PM that’s an apprentice
Not for minister, dat falsify customs paper
Dis government is in crisis, economic paralysis
And it’s getting worse, for killing Sir John dem men have a curse
Doh blame me, doh blame me, I voted for Labour Party
Doh blame me, doh blame me, for your misery
Doh blame me, doh blame me (repeat)
Verse 4
Dey don’thave clue ehn, ehn. Dem men doh know what to do
Sir John went awy, dey in disarray
De money from Taiwan, boy that already gone
They buy yachts and land, now de treasury empty
Dey doh have no money
To do tings for we, tout moun ka heylay (i.e. everybody crying)
Yo pasa manje, bagai movay (i.e.they cannot eat, things bad)
Mai ministers bouden, yo plen, paway pou paté (i.e.but ministers belly full, ready to burst)
It’s really sad, dat makes me mad
Man dat have to be de worst government we ever had
Chorus
Doh blame me, doh blame me, I voted for Labour Party
Doh blame me, doh blame me, for this tragedy
Doh blame me for unemployment, for dat comatose government
Not for brainless man, dat making foolish decision
They give broadcasting to Edmund, I never see man dat so dumb
E pasa mem parlez (i.e.he cannot even speak)
May vlay dee RSL pou ban chantez ((i.e. but want to tell RSL to ban songs)
Doh blame me, doh blame me
Doh blame me, doh blame me
Doh blame me, doh blame me

Leave a Reply

