Michael Bread

Standard

Thanks to Alex grant for sending me this story about MJ. RIP.

ELIAS KIFLE MARAIM BEYENE, 50, DJIBOUTI , EAST AFRICA

 

I won’t ever forget Michael Jackson because his contribution to the song We are the World had a very significant effect on my life.

I am 50 now but 25 years ago I was living in Addis Ababa , Ethiopia , which at that time was suffering from a long drought and famine.

It was a terrible situation. Lots of people became sick and many more died. Around one million people in all were killed by the famine.

In 1984 Michael Jackson, along with a number of other leading musicians, made the song We are the World to raise money for Africa .

We received a lot of aid from the world and I was one of those who directly benefitted from it.

The wheat flour that was distributed to the famine victims was different to the usual cereal we bought at the market.

We baked a special bread from it.

The local people named the bread after the great artist and it became know as Michael Bread. It was soft and delicious.

When you have been through such hard times you never forget events like this.

If you speak to anyone who was in Addis Ababa at that time they will all know what Michael Bread is and I know I will remember it for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

